Archeologist Cody Newton will be presenting the history and archeology of the Portuguese Fort site using artifacts from the site, including recent excavations, on March 10 at 1:00 at the Harold Jarrard Park Building in Kaycee.
Fort Antonio, known locally as the Portuguese Houses, was built in 1834 east of Kaycee as a fur trading post by independent trapper Antonio Montero from Portugal. The fort experienced a series of difficulties: attacks by Blackfeet, competition from Jim Bridger’s fur company, theft, and legal challenges from government bureaucrats. However, it was the demise of the beaver and the fall in demand for its felt that dealt the final blow. The fort was abandoned in 1840, and the fur trade had collapsed by then.
However, many items were left behind which tell a detailed story of how fort residents worked and lived. Dr. Newton will reveal its fascinating secrets and these new additions to the museum collection.
Coffee and cookies will be served.